City Hall Services Crippled After Sonko Fails To Appoint Chief Officers

Critical services at City Hall are grounded following delays by Governor Mike Sonko to appoint chief officers.

The names of the officials, who are critical in the day-to-day running of the county affairs, were approved by the county assembly 18 days ago.

The situation has put the city boss on the spot in the wake of poor services and surprise nomination of lawyer Miguna Miguna as deputy governor.

Public Appointments (County Assemblies Approval) Act, 2014 requires a governor to appoint the nominees within seven days from date of assembly approval.

The MCAs approved 20 out of the 22 chief officer nominees on May 4.

The names of Mama Lucy Kibaki Hospital medical superintendent Musa Mohamed, who was to man the medical services docket, and Mary Nyambura (Finance) were rejected by the August House.

Chief officers are the equivalent of the Principal Secretaries in the national government. They are the chief accounting officers and they oversee the day to day running of their sectors.

Clerk Jacob Ngwele said the county assembly communicated its decision back to the governor the same day that the nominees’ names were approved.

The governor, through the office of the county secretary, is supposed to issue appointment letters to the approved nominees within days of approval.

County secretary Peter Kariuki did not return calls when contacted for comment on Monday.

County public service board chairman Philip Kungu said: “We hope the letters will be ready in the next three to four days…but, this is the work of the governor, not us.”

The Correspondent has established that the nominees whose names were approved by the MCAs were called to a meeting with the Governor at City Hall last Tuesday.

The meeting, however, failed to take place after the lot was informed that Sonko was meeting the president on the Nairobi regeneration project.

“We have not received any communication since Tuesday and we now don’t know what is happening,” a nominee said.

The chief officers are among those who were appointed after Sonko was sworn in.

They are Leboo Morintat (Public Service), Justus Kathenge (Urban Planning), Pauline Kahiga (Urban Renewal and Housing), Jairus Musumba (Devolution), and Winfred Wangoi (Economic Planning).

Lucia Mulwa (Education), Washington Odingo (Agriculture), Mohamed Abdi (Livestock and Fisheries), Richard Kavemba (Transport), Fredrick Karanja (Roads), David Makori (Environment), Mohamed Abdirahman (Water), Aaron Kibet (ICT),Peter Makhoka (E-government) and Anne Muenda (Disaster Management), Mude Ibrahim (Youths and Sports), Mahat Jimale (Public Health), Fredrick Nzioki (Commerce and Trade) and Paul Macharia (Tourism) and Stephen Mwangi (Lands) were also nominated.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Kenyan Filmmaker Kahiu Signs Up With Gotham Group

Nairobi County’s Bid To Stop Payment Of Sh730m In Power Bills Fails