List Of Approved Varsities To Offer Engineering In Kenya


Kenyan students pursuing engineering have been left in major dilemma after the Engineers Board of Kenya (EBK) failed to recognize degrees offered in several Universities.

In a list published by EBK, Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology (JOOUST), Meru University of Science and Technology (MUST), South Eastern Kenya University (Seku), Technical University of Kenya (TUK) and University of Eldoret have been excluded yet they offer courses in engineering.


The professional body recognized engineering degrees offers from Kenyatta University, Technical University of Mombasa, Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology and the Multimedia University of Kenya.

Others included University of Nairobi, Moi University, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Egerton University and the Dedan Kimathi University of Technology.

What this means

If a University offering engineering course is not recognized by EBK, it means a student will acquire their certificate but the professional body will not authorize them to practice.

EBK is on record warning higher learning against admitting students without being accredited. Such institutions risk attracting Sh5 million fine or facing imprisonment of not more than five years, or both.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.