Victor Wanyama of Tottenham Hotspurs, in squad to face Ghana

Victor Wanyama has been named in a provisional squad of 38 players released by Kenya ahead of the upcoming 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Ghana slated for September 8, 2018, at the MISC Kasarani.
The Crocked Tottenham Hotspurs star, is injured and expected to be out of action for at least four weeks.
The defensive midfielder missed Tottenham’s English Premier League opener against Newcastle which they won 2-1 last Saturday. Also included in the squad released by the coach of the Kenya national football team, Sébastien Migné for the Group F clash is Bandari goalkeeper Farouk Shikalo, who has kept the cleanest sheets
in the Kenyan top-flight.
Coach Migné has also called up Maritzburg defender Brian Mandela, who is, however, suspended for the match, to assess him in preparation for future engagements.
Ian Otieno, who plies his trade in Zambia for Red Arrows as well as Paul Were and Belgium based Johanna Omollo also make a return to the team.
Local-based players are set to hit camp on September 2, 2018, ahead of the tie, with their foreign-based counterparts scheduled to link up with the team starting September 3, 2018.
Kenya currently has no points in the race to qualify for the 2019 AFCON to be hosted by Cameroon after losing 2-1 away at Kenya in their Group F opener.
They will be hoping to upset the Black Stars of Ghana who sit top of Group F after battering Ethiopia 5-0 in their opening game.
The Black Stars are followed by Sierra Leone by virtue of an inferior goal difference (in second place) while Ethiopia (like Kenya) have no points and are bottom by virtue of an inferior goal difference.

Complete Kenya squad below;

Ian Otieno (Red Arrows, Zambia), Patrick Matasi (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), Farouk Shikalo (Bandari)

Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Joseph Okumu (AFC Ann Arbor, USA), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia) Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United)

Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Mc Donald Mariga (Real Oviedo, Spain), Clifton Miheso (Buildcon FC, Zambia), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan), Ismael Gonzales (CF Fuenlabrada, Spain), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia)

Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Masud Juma (Un-attached), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Cabinet confirms restructuring of scandal-hit National Youth Service

Nonini Reveals Why He Stepped Down as PRISK Chairman